Clay Mathematics Institute Workshop
on IUT Theory of Shinichi Mochizuki



Organizers: Ivan Fesenko, Minhyong Kim, Kobi Kremnitzer

The work (currently being refereed) of Shinichi Mochizuki on inter-universal Teichmüller theory (arithmetic deformation theory) and its application to famous conjectures in diophantine geometry became publicly available in August 2012. This theory, developed over 20 years, introduces a vast collection of novel ideas, methods and objects. Aspects of the theory extend arithmetic geometry to a non-scheme-theoretic setting and, more generally, have the potential to open new fundamental areas of mathematics. This workshop aims to present and analyse key principles, concepts, objects and proofs of the theory of Mochizuki and study its relations with existing theories in different areas, to help to increase the number of experts in the theory of Mochizuki and stimulate its further applications.

Shinichi Mochizuki will answer questions during two three hour skype sessions during the workshop. He also responds directly to emailed questions.

For texts related to the workshop see this page


Monday December 7th -
Friday December 11th, 2015

Venue: Lecture Theatre L2
Mathematical Institute

University of Oxford


Mathematicians willing to participate in the workshop or having questions about its texts (whether or not attending the workshop) should first register an interest by sending answers to this questionnaire to symmetries.correspondences at

To formally register to participate in the workshop use the CMI page for instructions how to do that and for other local information.

Unless local accommodation is supported by the organisers, please arrange it yourself, e.g. using

Supported by
Clay Mathematics Institute
Symmetries and Correspondences


CMI page of the workshop



  • Alexander Beilinson (Univ. Chicago)
  • Francis Brown (Oxford)
  • Jamshid Derakhshan (Oxford)
  • Gerd Faltings (MPIM, Bonn)
  • Ivan Fesenko (Univ. Nottingham)
  • Gerhard Frey (Univ. Duisburg-Essen)
  • Dorian Goldfeld (Columbia Univ.)
  • Nigel Hitchin (Univ. Oxford)
  • Yuichiro Hoshi (RIMS, Kyoto Univ.)
  • Kiran Kedlaya (Univ. California San Diego)
  • Minhyong Kim (Univ. Oxford)
  • Kobi Kremnitzer (Univ. Oxford)
  • Ulf Kühn (Univ. Hamburg)
  • Emmanuel Lepage (Paris 6-7)
  • Angus Macintyre (Oxford)
  • Chung Pang Mok (Purdue Univ.)
  • Damian Rossler (Univ. Oxford)
  • Alexander Schmidt (Heidelberg Univ.)
  • Jakob Stix (Frankfurt Univ.)
  • Tamas Szamuely (ARMI, Budapest)
  • Fucheng Tan (Shanghai Center for Math. Sciences & Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ.)
  • Dinesh Thakur (Rochester Univ.)
  • Yuri Tschinkel (New York Univ.)
  • Felipe Voloch (Univ. Texas Austin)
  • Sir Andrew Wiles (Univ. Oxford)
  • Go Yamashita (RIMS, Kyoto Univ.)
  • Shou-Wu Zhang (Princeton Univ.)
  • Boris Zilber (Univ. Oxford)



  • Federico Bambozzi (Univ. Regensburg)
  • Ali Bleybel (Lebanese Univ., Beirut)
  • Alexander Cruz Morales (MPIM, Bonn)
  • Ishai Dan-Cohen (Univ. Duisburg-Essen)
  • Taylor Dupuy (Univ. California Los Angeles)
  • Alexander Ivanov (Techn. Univ. München)
  • Ariyan Javanpeykar (Univ. Mainz)
  • Robert Kucharczyk (MPIM, Bonn)
  • Lars Kuehne (MPIM, Bonn)
  • Thomas Oliver (Univ. Bristol)
  • Bora Yalkinoglu (Univ. Strasbourg)


  • Weronika Czerniawska (Univ. Nottingham)
  • Artur Jackson (Purdue Univ.)
  • Junghwan Lim (Univ. Oxford)
  • Wester van Urk (Univ. Nottingham)
  • Matthew Waller (Univ. Nottingham)