Clay Mathematics Institute Workshop on IUT Theory of Shinichi Mochizuki



Organizers: Ivan Fesenko, Minhyong Kim, Kobi Kremnitzer

The work (currently being refereed) of Shinichi Mochizuki on inter-universal Teichmüller theory (arithmetic deformation theory) and its application to famous conjectures in diophantine geometry became publicly available in August 2012. This theory, developed over 20 years, introduces a vast collection of novel ideas, methods and objects. Aspects of the theory extend arithmetic geometry to a non-scheme-theoretic setting and, more generally, have the potential to open new fundamental areas of mathematics. This workshop aims to present and analyse key principles, concepts, objects and proofs of the theory of Mochizuki and study its relations with existing theories in different areas, to help to increase the number of experts in the theory of Mochizuki and stimulate its further applications.

Shinichi Mochizuki will answer questions during skype sessions during the workshop. He also responds directly to emailed questions.


Monday December 7th -
Friday December 11th, 2015

Venue: Lecture Theatre L2
Mathematical Institute

University of Oxford


For texts related to the workshop, including a letter to its participants, see this page.

Several versions of animation illustrating some key features of IUT are available from this page.

Programme of the workshop will be made available shortly before the workshop at this page.

Registration for the workshop is now essentially closed.

The workshop starts at 9am on December 7 and its program will be completed by 5pm on December 11.

Clay Mathematics Institute Workshop (supported by Symmetries and Correspondences)

CMI page of the workshop

Oren Ben-Bassat, Weronika Czerniawska, Ivan Fesenko, Yuichiro Hoshi, Ariyan Javanpeykar, Kiran Kedlaya,
Robert Kucharczyk, Ulf Kühn, Lars Kuehne, Emmanuel Lepage, Chung Pang Mok, Jakob Stix, Tamás Szamuely, Fucheng Tan, Go Yamashita, Shou-Wu Zhang

Federico Bambozzi (Univ. Regensburg), Alexander Beilinson (Univ. Chicago), Oren Ben-Bassat (Univ. Haifa),
Francis Brown (Univ. Oxford), Martin Bridson (Univ. Oxford), Olivia Caramello (Univ. Paris 7), Davide Castelvechi (London), Brian Conrad (Stanford Univ.), Weronika Czerniawska (Univ. Nottingham), Ishai Dan-Cohen (Univ. Duisburg-Essen), Jamshid Derakhshan (Univ. Oxford), Taylor Dupuy (Univ. California Los Angeles), Gerd Faltings (MPIM, Bonn), Ivan Fesenko (Univ. Nottingham), Gerhard Frey (Univ. Duisburg-Essen), Adam Gal (Univ. Oxford), Lena Gal (Univ. Oxford), Dorian Goldfeld (Columbia Univ.), Nigel Hitchin (Univ. Oxford), Yuichiro Hoshi (RIMS, Kyoto Univ.), Alexander Ivanov (Techn. Univ. München), Artur Jackson (Purdue Univ.), Ariyan Javanpeykar (Univ. Mainz),
Li JiangTao (Peking Univ.), Kiran Kedlaya (UC at San Diego), Minhyong Kim (Univ. Oxford), Frances Kirwan (Univ. Oxford), Kobi Kremnitzer (Univ. Oxford), Robert Kucharczyk (MPIM, Bonn), Ulf Kühn (Univ. Hamburg), Lars Kuehne (MPIM, Bonn), Laurent Lafforgue (IHES), Emmanuel Lepage (Univ. Paris 7), Junghwan Lim (Univ. Oxford),
Angus Macintyre (Univ. Oxford), Chung Pang Mok (Purdue Univ.), Alexander Cruz Morales (MPIM, Bonn),
Alexander G. Oldenziel (Utrecht Univ.), Thomas Oliver (Univ. Bristol), Damian Rossler (Univ. Oxford), Thomas Scanlon (UC at Berkeley), Alexander Schmidt (Heidelberg Univ.), Francisco Simkievich (Univ. Oxford), Jakob Stix (Frankfurt Univ.), Tamás Szamuely (Rényi Inst. Math., Budapest), Fucheng Tan (Shanghai Cent. Math. Sc. & Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ.), Dinesh Thakur (Rochester Univ.), Ulrike Tillmann (Univ. Oxford), Wester van Urk (Univ. Nottingham),
Felipe Voloch (Univ. Texas Austin), Matthew Waller (Univ. Nottingham), Sir Andrew Wiles (Univ. Oxford),
Bora Yalkinoglu (Univ. Strasbourg), Go Yamashita (RIMS, Kyoto Univ.), Fernando Garcia Yamauti (Univ. Sao Paulo), Shou-Wu Zhang (Princeton Univ.), Boris Zilber (Univ. Oxford)

The image on this page is from an animation created by Etienne Farcot based on the specifications of Shinichi Mochizuki and suggestions of Ivan Fesenko. The image is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.