link to UON QG banner
  Quantum Geometry and Quantum Gravity
Research Networking Programme of the European Science Foundation
About QG
Research Area
Scientific Meetings
Travel Grants
Proposing a Workshop
QG Management [password restricted]
Mailing List

About QG

Programme Objective

The main objective of the programme is to stimulate the exchange of ideas between researchers pursuing different approaches to quantum geometry and apply the results to the study of quantum gravity.


The research programme will study several approaches to quantum gravity, namely loop quantum gravity, spin foam models, dynamical triangulations and matrix models. The common theme is the occurrence of quantum geometry in all these approaches. The research programme will study mathematical tools and techniques in non-commutative geometry and quantum groups and their applications to quantum gravity. For more information, see the Research Area.


The planned activities are workshops and conferences, schools and programmes of research visits. These are designed to increase the level of interaction between existing research groups and to give a broad education in all the approaches to a new generation of young researchers. The activities are open to all scientists working in Europe. However priority will be given to scientists working in the countries which financially support the programme.

Contributing Countries

The programme is funded by

Austria: Austrian Science Fund (FWF)
Belgium: Fonds National de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS)
Croatia: Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts
Germany: Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG)
Poland: Polish Academy of Sciences
Portugal: Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (FCT)
Spain: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, (CSIC)
Ministerio de Education y Ciencia (MEC)
Sweden: Swedish Research Council (SR)
Switzerland: Swiss National Science Foundation, (FNSNF)
UK: Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, (EPSRC)

Other European countries may join the network. If you are interested in making an application for your country to join, please contact the chair, John Barrett.


The programme is coordinated by the European Science Foundation and a steering committee with the following members:

Harald Grosse (Austria)
Glenn Barnich (Belgium)
Larisa Jonke (Croatia)
Hermann Nicolai (Germany)
Jerzy Lewandowski (Poland)
Roger Picken (Portugal)
Victor Aldaya (Spain)
Ingemar Bengtsson (Sweden)
Juerg Froehlich (Switzerland)
John Barrett (UK), Chair
Thomas Thiemann (advisory expert)
Carlo Rovelli (advisory expert)
Mauro Carfora (advisory expert)

Image Credits
link to UON qg banner